Fall Out Boy’s New Album Available for Streaming


Fall Out Boy’s long-awaited album drops April 16th, but you can listen to it now on Soundcloud here. We’ve included the track list and our initial thoughts below.  Overall, it’s great to have the boys back together.  The bass throughout the album is magical, as someone who often feels like Pete Wentz gets too much credit, I am eating my words.  I’m a little disappointed by the song names.  I always admired Fall Out Boy for their creative song names (“I Slept with Someone in Fall Out Boy and All I Got Was This Stupid Song Written About Me” “I’m Like a Lawyer with the Way I’m Always Trying to Get You Off (Me & You)”), the only one remotely similar is “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up).”

1.  The Phoenix

Strings!  The drums are killer, it’s agressive, but I’m not loving the lyrics.  I’m not going to lie, at first I thought he was saying “I’ll raise you like a fetus.”  Thank god its actually phoenix, that would have been disturbing (video below).

2.  My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up)

I’ve been listening to this song for a few weeks now (video below) and it always gets me amped.  The energy in this song is insane.

3.  Alone Together

This is my favorite song on the album, hands down.  The lyrics are great, it is reminiscent of old Fall Out Boy but still has something new about it.

4.  Where Did the Party Go

I love a na-na-na.

5.  Just One Yesterday featuring Foxes

Does anyone else think it sounds a little like Rolling in the Deep?  What’s that about?  I like what it does in the chorus.

6.  The Mighty Fall featuring Big Sean

Great beat!  I love it, I really like the addition of Big Sean.

7.  Miss Missing You

I think the intro sounds a lot like Animal, it’s really poppy.  This is probably my least favorite.

8.  Death Valley

Patrick’s voice is amazing here.

9.  Young Volcanoes

This kind of reminds me of a Train song, it seems very high school-ish.  I expected Fall Out Boy to have matured a little with its audience.  For the record though, this is a great lyric “We will teach you how to make boys next door out of assholes”

10.Rat A Tat featuring Courtney Love

“It’s Courtney, bitch” no no no.  That line is strictly reserved for Britney, I’m disappointed in Fall Out Boy for not being a little bit more creative.  Overall, the song sounds very chaotic and agressive, like the rest of the album.  I love Courtney and Patrick’s harmonies, especially at the end.

11.  Save Rock and Roll featuring Elton John

This one has grown on me, at first listen I wasn’t too crazy.  But can you really go wrong with Elton John, I think not.  I love how the song ends.  It’s a nice conclusion for the album.

Author: elizbond

Creative Project Manager at the CFPB, Appalachian State alumni, Emerson College IMC graduate. Lover of movies, television, junk food, her dog Dexter, James Dean, and all things southern. North Carolina native, DC resident.

3 thoughts on “Fall Out Boy’s New Album Available for Streaming

  1. Pingback: Weekly Rock Workout Edition – April 12, 2013 | ROCK PAPER WATCH

  2. Pingback: Weekly Rock – April 26 | ROCK PAPER WATCH

  3. Pingback: Weekly Rock! – June 6 | ROCK PAPER WATCH

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s